117 | counterfly – the invisible journey

If there is one thing that you wouldn’t expect from our latest Broque EP, then it is the fact that, its producer, Lorenzo Olivieri, reached just his early 20’s. That’s remarkable in particular when considering the ease and confidence with which “The Invisible Journey” combines jazz, funky bass guitars and exalted beat sections even Jimmy Edgar would be proud of, only to melt all ingredients into a sample-driven yet contemplative sound hybrid which defies all genre boundaries. Counterfly’s six new tracks further develop the ideas of his previous EP (“Glazed”), yet draws its originality less from melodies rather than from contemplative rhythms and harmonies which are formed out of vocals, pianos, unexpected pan flutes and a somewhat futuristic funkiness. As if this wasn’t already one of the most diverse and original amalgams you’ll hear anytime soon, the last two tracks top it off with some dancefloor tunes which (we are certain) you didn’t see coming. Jointly produced with Counterfly-buddy Ale Pasquali, “Trials and Errors” (in 2 versions) storms onto the dancefloor with untamed energy and immediately wins over dancers’ hearts and minds with their own definition of an honest, old-fashioned and pure trance sound. Not sure how he is ever going to top this: citing Debussy, Jimmy Edgar, Four Tet and 90’s rave anthems within six tracks only.


  1. the invisible journey
  2. backwards
  3. drawing room
  4. underwater
  5. trials and errors feat. ale pasquali
  6. trials and errors feat. ale pasquali (bonus version)
  7. Download .zip-file

artwork by Counterfly
you can also use your favorite download store